Why do nodes disappear after reopening a configuration file?

Topics: Questions and answers
Coordinator
Jul 12, 2006 at 11:51 AM
When saving the configuration to a file only the nondefault settings are saved.

for example: under SystemWeb Settings/AnonymousIdentification there is a settings called CookieName. This settings default value is '.ASPXANONYMOUS'.

Changing this setting to its default value will remove it from the configuration file (in order to keep the configuration files clean).

If all settings for SystemWeb Settings/AnonymousIdentification are set to their default values the whole section is removed from the configuration file.

Since the editor won't show settings not in your configuration file the node won't be loaded after reopening such a configuration file.

nothing to worry about :)